6 months later and still no ESPN3 access for some XBL users



Remember that nice little App Microsoft was boasting about at their terrible E3 Conference they conducted last year? Yea, the one that raised the price of Xbox Live from $49.99 a year to $59.99. 6 months later and still no ESPN3 access for some Xbox Live Members.

Currently Time Warner Cable and Bright House Network customers are still in the dark when it comes to streaming live events through ESPN’s service via Xbox Live. Back on November 1st 2010 I was excited to start up ESPN and watch some of my favorite sports live through using my Xbox 360. Unfortunately I was left angered and in rage that I’m paying more money for Xbox Live to have these additional features, yet can’t even use them to their full potential.

To this day I’m still in the same position I was in 6 months ago. No live streaming since I’m a Time Warner Cable customer. I’ve tried contacting ESPN and Xbox Support and always receive the same answer, which can be found on ESPN’s FAQs page.

“We are working diligently to bring ESPN on XBox LIVE as soon as possible to Time Warner Cable and Bright House Networks subscribers. ”

A few months ago I accepted this answer. Fine, give them time to work something out and bring the service to those are stuck with highlight clips. However, 6 months later and I’m still receiving the same answer?  That is ridiculous. I actually contacted a ESPN  customer support agent back in December and was told they expected the service to be up and running for Time Warner Cable and Bright House Network customers come January. Well it’s now May 1st, and still no dice.

I would like to hear from other Time Warner Cable and Bright House Network customers with your opinion on this. Are you angered, enraged, or just don’t care? Let me know in the comment section below.

Posted on May 1, 2011, in Features and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. http://espn.go.com/espn3/activate

    That is site I check every week.

    Interesting how ESPN had plenty of time to work with Time Warner on ESPN ‘WatchESPN’ App for iPad, iPhone and iPod touch.

    http://www.espnmediazone3.com/us/2011/04/07/watchespn/

    This is the exact video content on the iOS app as on the on the xbox360 App. They built this app in 2 months but in 6 months can’t build a Authentication bridge for the xbox360 app?

  2. I have filed a complaint with the New York State Attorney General and the FTC. If neither are successful in taking action I will sue these companies personally. This is consumer fraud.

  3. they are ignoring us? so frustrating.. im gonna switch isp since the rest can play xbox espn3 live events.

  4. It is so frustrated to wait for so long time without any update.

  5. I’ve been checking the activation site about once a week, as well as searching for any forums with input since no one from either company will give me information–they’re too busy blaming each other for why it isn’t up yet.

  6. Like you, I’ve sent several e-mails to ESPN support and they continue to give out the same canned response that they used when the service first went live back in 2010. How hard is it to implement a simple authentication system like the other apps on XBL have?

  7. I’m tired of waiting as well, I look a my FL list and see others enjoying the service and it angers me.

Leave a Reply

